Advent Conspiracy & The Petition for Presence

Hey lovely friends!

I know everyone was really just waiting in anticipation for another emotional rant about vulnerability and how much I hate change, but you’re out of luck. 😉 I DID want to let you guys know about some really exciting things that are going on though!

Tomorrow is December 1st. Advent has already started! [For those of you who don’t know, Advent is the historical Christian season leading up to Christmas- the birth of Christ.] For those of you who know me, I LOVE the month of December. Like, really really really love it. It’s just one big party from Thanksgiving all the way until New Years that traditionally- for me- involves family, friends, tasty food and beverages, a ton of coffee, reading, and snuggling. Litterally all of my favorite things. Plus I get to watch Elf and Love Actually a million times without anyone judging me!

This year I’ve decided to do this season a little bit differently, & will be participating in Advent Conspiracy and the #justbeherewithme project.

Advent Conspiracy is a movement that believes that Christmas can still change the world. It’s a call for individuals and communities to say that this season is about Worshiping Fully, Spending Less, Giving More, & Loving All. I hope you all read about it and participate with me!

For me it also means that the answer to “What do you want for Christmas and/or your birthday this year?” looks like this:

  • Donate to Catholic Charities, or to another organization helping resettle Syrian refugees in your own community. My church community is also partnering with Luteran Family Services and Medical Teams International and donating welcome kits— I’d love to work on making some of these together with with anyone who wants to help if you’d rather give a physical donation instead of money.
  • Board games or puzzles! I recently had the opportunity to clean up some visitation rooms at DHS and had to throw away most of the board games and puzzles due to missing pieces. Why is it important? These rooms are the places where so much healing happens for broken families. These kids only get a few hours with their parents every week, and it’s important that these spaces are as comfortable and fun as possible.

I’ll also be unplugging from social media for the month of December to participate in the #justbeherewithme project. Again, I KNOW everyone loves watching me post pictures of coffee cups and my super exciting life, but you’ll be okay! The Petition for Presence is a reminder that the best thing you can do for yourself and for the people around you is to just BE.

1437425565611

I’m going into this season with so much anticipation and thankfulness,  most of all for the advent of Jesus. My faith has taught me so much about what it looks like to love and be in community and I’m so thankful for the ability to experience that on another level this season. I hope that some of you join me. Interwebs, I’ll see you in the new year!

So much love, so much hope,
Charlotte

 

 

Leave a Reply

